Walk Cycle: part 2 – Final thoughts and feedback

walk Gif.gif

Starting off like I started my pushing a heavy object final thoughts post, sadly whilst attempting to batch render my final animation there were problems with the saving of the images of frames so for now I have put a Gif of the final animation at the top and will replace with a YouTube video of the final render of it.

Overall thoughts about this task were quite positive! As I have expressed with all animation tasks, I love the process of doing them all, I find it quite relaxing to take a model and add life or a personality to it and look forward to doing many more.

For this specific animation, I found using the rig to be a bit difficult at times, there seems to be a clip in the model on the right hip, every time the right leg goes forward (left one facing us) which I could not for the life of me seem to fix. Also, I found it difficult to make it look like there is impact when the feet hit the floor, to me it looks a bit too much like the character is gliding, now thinking back I should have put a slight bend in the knee when the foot comes into contact with the floor.

Capture

A great update to your ident with some nice overall improvements to the narrative of the story. The burger jump at the end could have more spring to it by increasing the speed (moving the frames closer together) this will help add even more appeal to it! Walk cycles are both good – the pushing heavy pbject is stronger I love the little bounce to the jog you have captured. To improve the walk further you need to add more up and down movement to the hips, they are currently static and it looks odd : Look at the range of movement of the hips of this walk https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eWt1Qt8JoGc Get these batch rendered for your portfolio and they’ll look awesome!
 Looking at my feedback, I completely agree that movement in the hips is needed as it does make it look a bit strange, I find it strange how many times I walked about my house analysing how I moved to not think about my hips at any point, however, I plan to improve this before my final presentation at the end of the year. Overall I am very happy with my purple and appreciate the feedback.
Leave a Reply

