VFX – Sky Replacement

Today in our lesson with Gary, we started to learn how to do Sky Replacement, throughout the lesson we will learn 2 methods of doing this, one using Linear color key ( good for Blue Skies ) and the other using colorama ( great for white / grey skies ).

The first was a great simple way of changing a still scene with a blue sky, below is the original image changing into the cloudy, dull scene that I created. I personally think that it is a great easy way to to change a scene, I also did some colour correction on the foreground to fit the scene.

sky-replacement-gif

 

For the second method I decided to push the boat out a little, I did the by not only using a video instead of a still image, but also import some birds that I found online and put them into the scene. It took a lot of effort but I really enjoy the result, sadly I wasn’t able to do any colour correction and make the image look more natural in the scene but I learned and refined a bunch of fundamentals whilst doing this.

Sky Replacement GIF 2.gif

Leave a Reply

