Developing Game Art

Mood Boards for inspiration:

When making the art needed for my level 2, I went to Google for inspiration, I was stuck between two things I’d like to draw, either a landscape or an animal of some sort, to help decide which I made mood boards of each.

Landscape??

Picture1

 

Animal??

Picture2

 

As I created these mood boards I came to the realisation that a landscape would be too difficult for a person of my skill level when using a drawing tablet, something singular using one point perspective would be much better something with great colours to be able to capture in my drawing, in the end I chose the animals. When choosing which one though I knew in an instant, the colours of the Owl and it’s feathers stood out in an instant. Here’s a full size image;

owl

To complete the drawing I used the programme Corel Painter, in my opinion it is a more art orientated Photoshop which I have gotten the chance to get the grips of in the past couple of months, I used a variety of brushes and blenders to do this; “Detail Oils Brush” and “Real Pointy Blender” were a few I used to really capture the colour in the feathers.

Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 18.22.55

 

Here’s the original and the drawing side by side.

Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 18.27.40owl

Leave a Reply

